The Flintstones Volume 1 – Mark Russell

★★★★

Received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I have to admit, I watched The Flintstones as a kid, but it was never my favourite. It lagged behind such other classics as Thundercats, Animaniacs, Darkwing Duck… I grew up in an email of great cartoon shows and The Flintstones always seemed a bit… Goofy. It’s central joke wore thin after a while (“they’re stone age people who live modern lives!! Groovy!”) and it didn’t have much else to offer. I also didn’t enjoy the Jetsons. So that whole Hanna-Barbera vibe was not my thing.

Sufficit to say I was unsure about this book. Reading a graphic novel of a cartoon I found fairly dull as a kid, but as an adult? Much hmmm.

So I am happy to report that this was great fun, and surprisingly thought-provoking! the Flintstones uses its prehistoric society to gently shine a light on the modern world we live in, tackling prejudice, consumerism, the institution of marriage, infertility, PTSD and, er, spring break.


Order The Flintstones Vol. 1 from Amazon:

Leave a Reply

